Public to vote in player awards

will allow the public to vote in a rebranded version of its player of
the year of the award, world soccer’s governing body said on Monday.
The annual ceremony in Zurich, which until last year was jointly organised with France Football and known as the Ballon d’Or, would be renamed “The Best FIFA Football Awards” following a split with the French magazine, a statement said.

the new system, half the votes would belong to the players and coaches
of the world’s 211 national teams and half to the public, who will take
part via an online ballot, and selected media representatives.
This event will be about football and its most passionate participants – players, coaches and fans,” said FIFA president Gianni Infantino.
“It is a new event with new approaches to celebrating the game we all love.”
awards will be handed out altogether, including the best coach, best
women’s player and women’s coach, the fair play award and fan award.
Last year’s player of the year award, won by Lionel Messi ahead of Cristiano Ronaldo, saw apparently tactical voting by the players.
voting as Argentina captain, picked his Barcelona team mates Luis
Suarez, Neymar and Andres Iniesta and Ronaldo, voting as Portugal
captain, chose his Real Madrid team mates Karim Benzema, James Rodriguez
and Gareth Bale.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker

Your Cart

%d bloggers like this: